elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

This week was really good.

Leave a comment

Hey guys!

Tuesday, we went on exchanges. I went to Zwickau with Elder Pinyon. He’s from Australia.

We had a good time. Man. I can barely remember details.

The beginning of this week seems to be about 40 years in the past. It’s kinda like looking down this big long tunnel to see what happened way back then in the good ole days.

Tuesday, I mean.

I think the mission does a weird thing to your biological clock. It’s like, the weeks are about 3 times as long, but time is moving 12 times as fast. So it just blazes by without you even noticing the days, but then trying to remember 2 weeks ago is like trying to remember the womb.

Anyway, I vaguely remember playing soccer on Tuesday. It was actually super awesome. We were playing indoor. I was pretty nervous, because I haven’t played in so long, and I was pretty sure I’d be destroyed. But I actually didn’t die!

Well I almost did.

This last weekend I got super sick, fever and stuff. One night towards the end of the ordeal, I ended up sweating what had to have been literally a gallon or so of water. I had to change my clothes literally 4 times in the night. I had to actually put a couple towels on my bed because the mattress got so soaked. So that was weird. But anyway, 2 days later I was playing some pretty intense soccer, so I was getting a little fuzzy headed, but it was fun nonetheless… I held my own against some pretty decent Germans, so that was cool.

Wednesday we visited Zwickau’s district meeting. Then we had a lesson with a guy named M*. He is a refugee here, which must really stink, because he has a Ph.D in microbiology, and is the published author of 2 books (and is working on his 3rd) all about the science, yes, the science, of Arabic poetry. So he is pretty wicked smart. He was really excited to hear about the Book of Mormon, and he is definitely a thinker. He was asking some very philisophical questions, and was expecting pretty astounding answers back, but we did the best we could. He is super cool, and I’m excited to meet with him in the future.

Thursday, we went to Werdau’s district meeting (which is our district meeting too). For lunch that day, due to weird train stuff, we ended up being stranded in this mall for an hour, so we bought this roasted ham thing, kind of like a turkey leg but ham. Super good, then, reveling in our culinary expertise, we combined that with a couple rolls of sushi, also delicious.

Saturday, we met with a new investigator from Eritrea. We also met with a new member from China, and one of our main investigators named M. He has been on baptismal date like 3 times, just hasn’t made it. So we talked to him about repentance last time. This time, he brought up baptism himself and wanted to know how that worked with repentance. That was good. As Elder Weber put it, it felt very “real intent-y”.

Moroni_10_4_Plates-aMjY0

By far the best part of the week also happened on Saturday. I got to skype in to the baptism of O, the Hungarian lady from Neumünster. I am so happy for her! She is great.

Sunday, we got to meet another new member who had been in China for the last month. She is the happiest girl ever. She is so awesome. We met with her and her boyfriend. She brought back several Chinese “snacks” and had us try them, ranging from dried fruit leather to….. squid.

Not like fancy squid.

The best way I could describe it is gas station squid. Imagine the body of the squid, about 3 inches long and an inch thick, packed in plastic packaging like a slim jim. And on the inside is fish eggs. That wins the award for weirdest thing I’ve tried on my mission, and I hope it keeps that.

Like this maybe?

Like this maybe?

 

I am so grateful to be on a mission. I hope everything is going well for you guys!

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

