elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

I hope you’ve had a good week!

Leave a comment

Hey guys!

This week was very good for us, or at least I feel very good about this week. We were pretty busy. On Wednesday we were wearing normal service clothes the entire day because we had so much service to do! We helped M. (member) renovate his house, which was basically moving a bunch of furniture. To be more specific, M is on vacation and we helped his Mormon contractor. 🙂 Then we helped an investigator named F move a couch into his house. After, we helped U in her garden. The we finished off the day watering O and A’s plants, because they are on vacation. I really enjoy days like that every once and a while.

Thursday we have mission tour, which is basically the same as Zone Conference, except a General Authority comes. So Paul V. Johnson came. He was the Commissioner of the Church Educational System, and now he’s in the Europe area presidency. It was really good. I wouldn’t say I learned anything new, per se, but I came away from it feeling refreshed and ready work, and I think that’s pretty great.

We had a couple cool experiences this last week.

First, we met with Frau F, who is 87 YEARS OLD. She is so awesome. Just the sweetest old lady. We committed her to read in the Book of Mormon last week, and she didn’t. She was really apologetic and felt really bad, but we told her having eye surgery was a good enough excuse. 🙂 There was one point during the lesson where she basically started teaching me, and I started to wonder if she was an angel or something. She lamented the fact that not many people here ever THINK. They never ask themselves deep questions, like is there a God, or why am I here, or what to I want to do with my life, or what makes me happy, or what’s important to me. They just skate through life, getting money for food and basically just continuing to exist. Then she looked me right in the eye and said,

“We need young people out there who are making people think. Even if you change one person’s life, you’ re changed the world. But you are needed.”

Wow. That was pretty awesome. She said the prayer at the end.

We met with Herr Y again. He was having a really hard time healthwise, and we both felt inspired to give him a priesthood blessing. That was kind of difficult, because you know, pouring some oil on someone’s head and then putting your hands on their head and saying words like anoint, consecrated, and Melchizedek. . . It can be confusing for an old guy. But we did it. After, we asked him what he thought, and he didn’t really say much and continued on as if nothing happened. I was worried he didn’t understand, which was a huge bummer. I wondered if we were wasting time here. But then we asked what he felt, and he opened up. He said he felt really good and peaceful. And not only that, but it made him start thinking about important religious things he hasn’t thought about for a long long time. He says he sometimes just sits and thinks about that stuff now, ever since we’ve started visiting. That’s so great!

On Sunday, we brought a Jehovah’s Witness named A to church. The day we found him, we actually talked to another Jehovah’s Witness couple. He was very nice. They were not so much. With the couple we never Bible bashed, but I was ready with a few questions after they asked us the classic “Do you allow military service?” And “Do you allow blood transfusions?” questions. So I asked them what they believe happens to those who don’t get a chance to be baptized here. It was good. It helped me see a couple of things I was taking for granted that I want to find scriptural support for.

I’d never asked myself why Adam and Eve couldn’t have children in the Garden of Eden. I know they couldn’t according to the Book of Mormon and Pearl of Great Price, but as of right now I can’t think of a reason why not. Any ideas?

Anyway. I would call that experience a draw 🙂

The next guy was much nicer. He’d had some bad experiences with a few Witness policies, so when we were a little more accepting, he was willing to listen. But he is hard core. He’s of course also been a missionary, and went to jail for 8 months to avoid military service and stuff. But he said he would come to church. He did, and he enjoyed it. Just from talking to him on the train and stuff, I really like him. He is so much more polite than any other Witness I’ve ever met. Maybe it’s our name tags, but they are pretty … Scoffy… sometimes. He’s open to listen to our message, but he’ll be a toughie. Good thing I’m reading “A Marvelous Work and a Wonder” right now, which is a super cool book. I’ve already learned a lot.

We said goodbye to Junior on Sunday. He’s headed back to Brazil. Darn him. He’s so awesome, but that boy needs a trial.

Last of all we met with M and A on Saturday (FINALLY). They have a wood burning stove for the winter, so we helped him carry wood. Then we had a good talk about scripture reading, and how they can help us calm down. M gets really stressed at work. That was a good appointment, and we promised to text them a scripture everyday to read right when they get home from work. They were actually pretty excited about that. Then we also went by yesterday. We shared our scripture for that day with them – Mormon 9:21.

Behold, I say unto you that whoso believeth in Christ, doubting nothing, whatsoever he shall ask the Father in the name of Christ it shall be granted him; and this promise is unto all, even unto the ends of the earth.

Then we talked about prayer. We taught them how to pray and then invited them to try it. M was really shy about it and nervous, but A was excited to try, so she did. She said an awesome prayer! M didn’t end up praying, but he said he would on his own. It was a very good lesson. As M was driving us home, he told us how he really really liked the missionaries and our church, and to him, it seems like the most honest religion. He said the reason he’s interested in this whole thing is because every missionary he’s met has been a wonderful person. That was really cool! They said they are coming to church on Sunday because I’m giving a talk. 🙂

All in all, this week has been really fun.

I hope this week goes well for you guys!

That’s awesome about the new car!

Love,
Elder Greaves

Leave a Reply

