elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Hey guys! This week has been decent.

Leave a comment

We got to meet with some cool people, and as always, we have improved our teaching skills.

Here’s my letter to President straight from Google translate. I thought that would be kind of interesting to see what happened.  🙂

Hello President!

This week was nice. We have seen success, where we had good lessons.

We met with Mr. Y. He is an elderly man, with . . . typical German exterior, but a very loving heart. He wanted to come to church this week, but he got a sudden visit. Hopefully, he comes next week!

We see a little progress here in Frankfurt Oder. We have built up very good relationships with the members and I know this will not only help us, but also the missionaries who follow us.

Frankly, I do not have much to say today, except that I’m happy but never satisfied. I have heard a quote that I liked. “The mission is so that you could never have a perfect day.” It is simply impossible, where our mission is to serve as representative of Jesus Christ. We may not be as good as Jesus could be, but we can be better than if we were all alone.

I love my mission.

Our community is veeeery small (9-10 people) and has no young people. But this week we had a member visitors. Therefore Elder Allen and I made a youth class.

Can I just say that I want to teach young people NEVERRR again! It was not terrible, but definitely difficult. We finished with our testimonies, (shared my conversion story) and it was all in all quite good.

Kind regards!

Elder Greaves

Some cool extra highlights: I don’t know if I’ve said much about U, but he’s this really cool guy who used to meet with missionaries. They pushed him pretty hard, which I generally advocate, but he was sick and he actually got sicker from stress meeting with missionaries, so that’s not good.  Elder Allen and I are basically meant to be friends with him, since he is a WORLD TRAVELER, which is essentially all I want out of life.

Besides a family.

And he also is in to Indy movies, which Elder Allen could talk about for hours.

We are working hard to just be really good friends with him. He knows we are there to talk about the gospel, and he wants to talk about it too. We just meet him where he’s at.

He invited us to go pick blackberries with him in the woods! The at was super super cool. Then, we had about 3.5 billion tons of blackberries. Later, we shared a spiritual thought: 2 Nephi 2:25, since it fit our Gospel discussion that day. He really liked it and asked us to write it down so he could read again later. I’m getting a stronger testimony that the best way to help investigators is love them, and treat them as individuals.

This week I have very little time, but a few things real quick: about Cupcake: definitely sell her. She was gorgeous, but not very practical. I have sights set on greater things, like an adventure mobile! See attached picture.

IMG_0265

[As for a car after my mission] I have the goal of just completely making it on my own money wise, as ridiculous as that sounds, considering I have literally no money. 🙂 It would definitely be an adventure, but I have a few ideas of how I can make it work. Anyway. I’ not thinking about that much yet.

As far as that referral goes that you gave me. Referrals go through the mission office, so I could call them If you’d like, but it would be even better if the mom just wrote the office herself, since she has all the background info. Also, you can send one in online using Mormon.org. If you’d rather have me call, I can definitely do that. Just let me know.

I love you guys! Have an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

