elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Yuck.

Leave a comment

Hey guys!

One more thing I’ve given up on getting myself. Could you send me a German POCKETSIZE bible? It’s called Die Bibel, Einheitsubersetzüng. (Unity Translation). But the pocket size part is important. There’s a new rule that you have to carry that, and my back is killing me honestly. Stupid side bag. I’m never using one again at home. And if you can find a (preferably black) leather (or fake leather) zip up case for them, that would be cool, but not a necessity. German cases are different. They don’t have a handle. It’s more like a book cover, so the book goes inside and then you unzip it and unfold it and it stays on all the time. Just imagine a leather book, but then where you would normally see pages is the Cloth Zipper part. If that is too confusing, I can send a picture next week, but like every German has them, so it shouldn’t be too hard. Thanks for sending the proactiv, and for looking for those shirt thingies.

First off, my pants… well, between stricter rules about pants and the fact that Elder Riddle tried to wrestle me in church clothes and I got a huge rip in one, I am veeerrry low on pants. Shoes, I’m planning on getting my brown ones resoled this or next week, and Elder Casperson is buying the black ones, which is a relief, because then I can buy new ones! I’m down to one suit, but I can possibly get some good shopping in in one of these upcoming P-days. And I have like 2 pairs of socks.

Wow. I’m a mess.

Speaking of messes, this Apartment here.

Why did I have to be the one to say

“Hey, maybe the shower SHOULDN’T BE ORANGE COLORED!”

Or, like this morning. I decided to tackle a corner where Elders had been throwing old clothes and blankets for years, with some trepidation as to what would be at the bottom, and sure enough, 3 types of mold (based on color).

So I’ve been attacking that all day.

And Elders NEVER THROW ANYTHING AWAY EVEEEEERRRRRRR.

Their thinking is like,

“No, I can’t throw that away. What if the next elders that come need new shoelaces, but can’t JUST GO TO THE STORE AND BUY THEM FOR 1!!!!!! EURO, and need to roll new ones? How will they do that if we throw out that ball of pocket lint? We’d better think ahead here.”

For example, this apartment is tiny, and have TWO couches. Not loveseats, Couches that go in the corner. There’s enough seating for a soccer team and all of their cousins in here, if they all got squishy.

Just . . .why?

I’m not blaming Elder Casperson. From what I’ve heard, it’s been much worse. But why can’t everyone see that there is a right way and a wrong way of doing things, and we can all just safely assume that my way is always the right way? Is that too much to ask?

my way

But enough of that.

This week has been decent. It’s fun having this many lessons, but a lot of them are the exact same lesson with Muslims. There are great Muslims (P and B, for example, but they actually are converts), but it is kind of a cultural thing to be nice to guests, and it is also a cultural thing to not even think about changing religions. They really don’t even see that as an option. They were born Muslim so they ARE Muslim, even if they have no faith in their religion. Very interesting, and hard, because we are obligated to teach them to see if they are genuine, but it takes sooo much time away from doing more productive things.

We set 2 baptismal dates, again with a couple from Serbia that might have to go back, in which case they will get baptized there.

Maybe I’m secretly called to the Serbian Mission, and they just have me here to get Serbians baptized, because if they do go back, that will make a total of 6 so far that were really close. But they could stay. It would actually be better for them if they stay. We’ll see. They have a long way to go, but they can make it if they work hard. That date is for May 16.

We got one really cool investigator named J to church. He’s great! He’s Brazilian, on a foreign exchange program in Germany. He is in law school right now. He is a born again Christian and went to a year of Bible School, so put those things together and you’ve got a pretty craaazy investigator. He is probably the most animated person I’ve ever met. Hes pretty stubborn, and progress is really slow, but he feels the Spirit really strongly and we’ll get him in the long run. 🙂

He just happens to be best friends with O, a wonderful woman in our ward that converted to Christianity from Islam and is getting her Ph.D right now. It’s a lot of fun to work with J, and I really think he can make some progress if he wants to. We’ve just got to stay away from the temptation of using the Bible to answer every question and focus on him recognizing the Spirit.

Okay. I love you guys. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

