elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Frankfurt Oder: Week 1

Leave a comment

Soccer! What is up with that sweatshirt???]

Soccer! [What is up with that sweatshirt???]

Before I start, something I would like if it’s alright:

I can’t remember what they are called, but I know they use them in the Military. They hook on to your Shirt and your socks or something to Keep your Shirt tucked in all day. It’s elastic suspender Kind of things. My Hands will have 3 hours extra free time a day if you can send this to me.

Thank you!

Yes, it’s true, Frankfurt Oder is not that small. I mean it is still pretty small, but it’s my biggest area by far. It has already been an absolute blast here. First of all, it was the first area I’ve ever come into where they were actually teaching real live investigators already. That actually brought some challenges, but more on that later. And yes, you ruined the surprise, there was a death threat here in Germany, and yes, it was poor Elder Casperson’s first day ever in his first area. It was fairly serious, and they weren’t allowed to work in the actual city of Frankfurt for a long while. Elder Casperson was trained by a new missionary, and in their first Transfer, they only found 1 new investigator. In Transfer 2, they found 10. That’s better than Elder Draper and I! In the mean time, they really worked on becoming good friends with the investigators, and they did a very good Job.

By the way, These Computers are doing some funky automatic capitalizing, and I’m sick of Fixing it, so sorry about that.

This week was awesome! We found 9 investigators and about 10 contacts, got the teaching pool above 20, invited some of those new investigators to baptism (an ‘if you know it’s true, will you be baptized Kind of deal”), met with all of the investigators they already had, got 3 of them to church and built great relationships with all of them. We were super busy all week. I love it.

The ward is ridiculously small, only 10 People, and 5 of them were all baptized within months of each other 5 years ago. AND IT’S THE AWESOMEST WARD EVER!!! These People are so excited about missionary work. They are doing more than about 4 normal wards combined. I’ll talk about 2 of them today.

Livia and Bob (names changed) are married. They are from a middle eastern country. They are so great. Livia is just a social Butterfly.

Every time the missionaries found someone new to teach, she would A) already be best friends with them or B) meet them in the llibrary, become best firends with them, and then everyone finds out all at once that we know each other.

It’s insane. Two of my favorite investigators are some of her best friends. One is named Mitch, he lives in Poland. He is an autopsy examiner. He is 28, and also has a Ph.D, and he is exactly what I would be if I were an investigator.

That is, he like arguing and will question every.

single.

Thing.

It is so fun. He is really great. We were talking about the trinity.

He says basically “I think they have 3 bodies, but are like 1 in purpose”.

I told him that’s what we believe.

He basically says “Well that can’t be right”.

I tell him he believes something different than most every other Christian. He likes that. something different from everyone, that is, Except us. He doesn’t like that. He keeps trying to re-explain it to make it a debate. He just agrees more thoroughly with us. We tell him that. He proceeds to debate about whether or not this is a debate.

Junior, the other one, is a Young brazilian, a Born again Christian, who went to Bible School. He is a tough Cookie, and the life of the Party. He LOVED General conference, but seriously doubts anything outside the Bible.

WHERE HAVE THESE INVESTIGATORS BEEN MY WHOLE MISSION?!!! IT’S EVERYTHING I’VE EVER PREPARED FOR!

He is real comedian. I’m half tempted to sneak a Video of him telling some Story so you can see how animated and happy he is. It’s great. I want them both to get baptized sooooo bad. We’ll see. I’ve got some time.

Grr. It is still capitalizing randomly.

Something cool that happened this week: We had been almost literally running from app to app this week, and a Train was coming in 10 minutes. I honestly didn’t realize it was inspiration until afterwards, but we just felt like we should go over there. We started talking to this guy for a while, and it was awful. Super awkward, it wasn’t going anywhere, we felt kind of dumb. Then out of the blue, he was telling us about his baptism. He is a less active member who had been traveling for a while. The missionaries had tried by several times with 0 success, but we had just found him on the street! His number had changed and he is going out of town again soon, so chances are good he wouldn’t have been recontacted for a few months more. The Lord works in mysterious ways. I really think we were supposed to meet him, because I saw his teaching record before we found him as I was perusing the area book, and I felt like we should really go by on him. I’m excited to work with him.

I love you guys! Have a great week!

Elder Greaves

P.S.

FROM BERNBURG:  This guy's name is K. He speaks Tigringa, which is what they speak in Eritrea. Don't feel bad if you haven't heard of those things. But he and his 2 friends have German class with us, which is fun because they speak neither English nor German, and there is no translator for Tingringa, besides little homemade dictionaries online. But we were playing pictionary with German words, and he started drawing this, and I just started dying laughing, as did his 2 friends and Elder Riddle. No one had any idea what is was, but he was trying to draw a girl. (That's why I wrote Frau underneath) Just imagine seeing an  foot tall that thing loping towards you in a dark alley? You would probably need to change pants. Maybe one of my favorite pictures from my mission so far.

FROM BERNBURG: This guy’s name is K. He speaks Tigrinya, which is what they speak in Eritrea. Don’t feel bad if you haven’t heard of those things. But he and his 2 friends have German class with us, which is fun because they speak neither English nor German, and there is no translator for Tigrinya, besides little homemade dictionaries online. But we were playing pictionary with German words, and he started drawing this, and I just started dying laughing, as did his 2 friends and Elder Riddle. No one had any idea what this was, but he was trying to draw a girl. (That’s why I wrote Frau underneath) Just imagine seeing that foot-tall thing loping towards you in a dark alley? You would probably need to change pants. Maybe one of my favorite pictures from my mission so far.

Leave a Reply

