elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

My last week in Bernburg . . . :(

Leave a comment

The news came on Saturday. Transfer calls come between 8 – 12 on the last Saturday of the transfer.

Unless you’re me, in which case you wait til 1. And you were the last missionary in the the entire mission to get the call. I think they hate me.

But I’m going to…. drumroll please….. Frankfurt! Oooooorrrr…… this little tiny town in Stake Berlin called Frankfurt/Oder.*

Oder means “or” in German. So I’ve heard a lot of wise guys these last couple days as I tell people where I’m going. I don’t know much, except it is on the border of Poland, and the branch is the 2rd or 3rd smallest in the mission with a whopping 10 active members! I’m actually super excited. Bernburg has been too easy. I actually told President I need more challenges.

My new companion’s name is Elder Casperson, don’t stalk him too much mom.  [Mom sidenote:  Busted!  Elder C’s mom and I had already connected before even getting this email.  🙂]

He just got done being trained, which means I’m doing what’s called Golden Busting. New missionaries are called goldens. It refers to the fact that some missionaries just kinda assume their trainer did everything right, so they kinda butt heads with their second companion, who will do things differently and better, and is dashingly good looking, and remarkably funny.

Napolean_Dynamite_just_kidding_meme_

 

This is my 3rd time doing this, so I’m getting pretty good at it by now. But yeah, it is a small area for sure. I’ll leave tomorrow, so wish my suitcases and I good luck, and that we will all arrive together with all of our parts still firmly attached.

This week has been pretty great! We measure this thing called a teaching pool, which is pretty self-explanatory. We’ve been very strict about who is in our teaching pool, because people tend to inflate numbers, and then they have less lessons than people in their teaching pool. But I realllly wanted a teaching pool of 20 here before I left, so we set a goal for that. That meant lots of new investigators this week. Five actually.  This weekend was General Conference, so our whole weekend we would be out of our area watching in Köthen. We had 2 hours of working time on Saturday before we were done for the week, and we’d only found 2. But we kept going, and in the space of 90 minutes, found 3 new investigators! One of them is super awesome, and I’m jealous of Elder Riddle’s new companion.

Speaking of which, he gets to train, the lucky duck! He is super excited, and I’m even more excited for him. No really. It will be a cool way to finish off his mission. He only has 3 transfers left, that trunky son of a gun.

I’m really going to miss Elder Riddle. We became really great friends, so I’m excited to hang out with him at BYU. He’s a great guy.

General Conference was great. I felt like I learned a ton. I absolutely loved Elder Holland’s talk.

My boi J. Holla can throw down some serious spirit.

All the missionaries were writing furiously during all 8 4 sessions we got to watch, but during that one talk, we all just put our pens down and listened. I didn’t want to disturb the awesomeness.

This weekend, Köthen had a baptism, which is always great.  Actually, I was the one that found their investigator for them! I was on exchanges. his name is Tobias, and he is from Nigeria, just like John. He’s not quite as cool, but who is? 😉

Actually, John bore his testimony at the baptism, and it was the coolest thing ever. I actually knew almost all of what he shared of his life story, but he avoided talking about some parts with the ward. He told about how he wasn’t the best person before he met us. He drank and smoked. Alot. He actually was drug smuggler and dealer. He hated it, but he felt like it was the only way out. He decided he didn’t want to do that when he came to Germany, but it was a temptation. It is too easy to make money doing that.

The one thing he said I didn’t know was that he was planning on going back to drinking after his baptism, because it was too hard to stop. But as he went into the water, he knew he would never do that. He just said he was a changed man, and he is so grateful for his deliverence. He is such a stud. I can honestly say he is one of my best friends. Every single person that meets him falls in love with him. Elder Riddle, for example. I’m gonna meet up with him again someday, even if that is in Africa. It’ll happen.

Anyway, thanks for being so awesome. Have a great week!

Elder Greaves

*Elder Greaves might be a little surprised.  The city actually has about 70,000 people!  Lots of opportunity for missionary work. 🙂  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankfurt_%28Oder%29

Leave a Reply

