elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Round Two

Leave a comment

Hey guys, I got special permission to email you one more time today because I felt like I didn’t have enough time yesterday. I just wanted to say I’m so grateful for my family, extended included. I really miss you. Of course, that includes Brett. I have some good memories with him, going down to the park to play football, watching him wrestle those T-rexes he tried to pass off as Rottweilers, learning how to do the signature bicep kiss (TM), and of course the pec pop. Who could forget the pec pop?

But one of my favorite memories with him is my last day in the real world, AKA the day I went into the MTC. I was really grateful I was able to see him. We talked a little, and he said something about a “glow”, how he could tell I was really happy to serve a mission. That helped me to realize that what he was saying was really true. I was happy to serve a mission. Only 15 minutes later, I got back in the car and we drove away. It was a short visit, but I’ll always be grateful for it – for the chance I had to just talk to him a little.

I hope and I think that he realized he was always welcome with us. I hope and I think that he realized there are a lot of people that love him. If he didn’t know the full extent of it before, he certainly knows it now.

I was praying the other night that he would be safe and happy and well-cared for, and I got the distinct impression that he was. I was reminded that not only is Brett my uncle, but he is a son of God, someone that God knows personally and loves more fully than we can even comprehend. I know that Brett is being well taken care of. I especially believe that Brett understands now better than we probably can the love his and our Heavenly Father has for him. He knows how special he is now.

I just want to give my testimony that Heavenly Father only ever wants what is absolutely best for us. We had eternities before this life and we will have eternities after, always learning and growing. This part of earthly life is only a small part, just a tiny blip, of what we will fully experience. Every single thing that happens to us here is for our eternal progression. I know that. I know that Jesus Christ died for us. He knew we couldn’t do it alone, and he wouldn’t let anyone fail without reaching out to him first.

Mosiah 15: 5-8

5 (He) suffereth temptation, and yieldeth not to the temptation, but suffereth himself to be mocked, and scourged, and cast out, and disowned by his people.
6 And after all this, after working many mighty miracles among the children of men, he shall be led, yea, even as Isaiah said, as a sheep before the shearer is dumb, so he opened not his mouth.
7 Yea, even so he shall be led, crucified, and slain, the flesh becoming subject even unto death, the will of the Son being swallowed up in the will of the Father.
8 And thus God breaketh the bands of death, having gained the victory over death; giving the Son power to make intercession for the children of men.

Christ suffered and felt all the pains you have felt so that we could all be together again someday.

Mosiah 16:

7 And if Christ had not risen from the dead, or have broken the bands of death that the grave should have no victory, and that death should have no sting, there could have been no resurrection.
8 But there is a resurrection, therefore the grave hath no victory, and the sting of death is swallowed up in Christ.
9 He is the light and the life of the world; yea, a light that is endless, that can never be darkened; yea, and also a life which is endless, that there can be no more death.
10 Even this mortal shall put on immortality, and this corruption shall put on incorruption.

There is a resurrection, there is a Christ, there is a hope. I really love you. Thank you for being such good examples to me and for helping me learn about myself.

I hope you keep your thoughts on Christ today.

Thank you for being my rocks, and for helping me when things are hard. One more time, I love you. I hope you have a great week!

Elder Greaves

large_calla-lily_1

Leave a Reply

