elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Blech

1 Comment

First of all, let me tell you a little story entitled, CIARA V. IS MY HERO. [Ciara is an awesome friend from high school who decided to join the church a little more than a year ago]

I hadn’t heard from her in a while, and my missionary senses were tingling, and I was actually a little worried that she was having problems converting to LDS life. Just the opposite! She wrote me this week, and she is just doing absolutely amazing. I’m so excited for her. She immediately started sharing the Gospel with every single person she ever even smiled at. My goodness.

She told me she literally has “potential investigators” that she is still working on. Knowing Ciara, she probably has an area book too. She invited one friend to meet with the missionaries, but her friend got mad when the missionaries invited her to baptism. She’s still working on that one. She got one of her athiest friends to start praying with her, and She EVEN GOT SOMEONE BAPTIZED! As she was writing her email, he was apparently next to her, indexing! She told her student ward that they needed 1 baptism a semester! (They were a little doubtful, so she’s just doing it herself). She’s that hardcore crazy convert every ward needs, and every missionary wants. So cool for her!

And…. this week sucked. It was absolutely terrible. We found 8 people last week. That’s four times the average for the zone, and our area is tiny. Truly and only through the power of the Lord. We found miraculously this entire transfer when we gave it 100%. But when we gave it 99%, we found almost no one, because the Lord couldn’t bless us. This week, we had… 8 fallen out appointments with those guys. Pretty rough. We found 1 guy, who later walked all the way to the church to tell us he had no interest.

Ouch.

So there’s not much new to share this week, other than that John was confirmed. He was super happy. Later in the classroom, as I was walking out, he started singing

“I feel good! Dun-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh. I knew that I would now! Dun-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh. SO GOOD! DUH_ NUH! SO GOOD! DUH NUH…”

You know the one. Maybe you at least know the tune from the ever-so-descriptive duns and nuhs.

I feel good

But next week, I’m ready to hit the pavement. Oh yeah, transfers. Elder P. got sent to Bremenhofen in the far far west by the sea, and I’m staying here. My new companion’s name is Elder Riddle. I’ll meet him tomorrow!

I love you guys so much! I’m really grateful to be on my mission, feeling the Spirit and learning about myself and the Gospel every day.

Hey super cool news! I think I told you a while ago about Tom, who drove 2 hours to church the week after I left Lauenburg! I was talking to him through email before that to set up appointments, so while I never got to teach him, I did get to explain the Book of Mormon a little, give my testimony, answer a few questions… Well, he’s getting baptized! He felt the Spirit and knows it is true. They set a date just before his 25th birthday because he wants to serve a mission! How amazing is that stud?

Love ya,
Elder Greaves

One thought on “Blech

  1. We are sure proud of your 100% attitude and effort.

Leave a Reply

