elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

Still got it!

Leave a comment

That phrase – still got it – reminds me of something I don’t think I told you guys before. My first experience with Europeans was on our flight over here. Every flight, my seat got moved away from all the other missionaries for various reasons. One of them, these Dutch girls wanted to sit by their friends, so they asked if I would switch. I said yes, so they offered to kiss me. Gross, girls! So apparently I got it, whatever it is, on my mission.

Anyway.

no-kiss-zone-hi

Elder Draper and I make a pizza every week, and Elder Draper always does the dough, because he thinks he’s a pro and because I’m lazy. He thinks recipes are for the weak, so they always taste weird. This last week it was basically pie crust. But we eat really well. Too well! Too much money! 🙂

Members generally feed us well. In Germany, the host can essentially say “You must eat it all” to scraping-plate levels. I hate that. Makes me so mad. This one guy in our ward, who said I was skinny, skinny like asparagus, and that my eyes were far apart like a fish (thanks for that confidence boost), made only me do that at this Greek restaurant that gives you no water and no bread, just a huge salty mass of gyro meat. I was so mad, I just ate everything almost before Elder Draper started.

We had gemienderat [ward council] this week and it went so much better. We decided to talk about every single one of our investigators, so they can see we are actually doing a good job. It helped so much. My German is coming along great. I am on track to finish the German textbook they give all the missionaries before I’m done being trained! Not sure if there’s like an award for that or something, like fastest or something… ehherm. Also, I’ll be done with the missionary library within this week. Do you know of any awesome huge thick really complicated Atonement books? We can read things other than scriptures during free time. I’ve got nothing left to study!

An inactive Greek family came to church for the first time in months. They are so fun to teach. They are the exact opposite of Germans. Stavros, the dad, was professional soccer player in Greece, which basically means he’s about as good as the 13 yo’s in Germany.

But he looks like a member of the Mafia.

You share a scripture, and he basically starts shouting halellujas. He and his wife asked if we had ever had visions – they are big on visions. We shared the scripture story of Alma, who saw an angel, but said later the reason he had a testimony was because of fasting and prayer. So the Spirit is more powerful than visions.

They were freaking out. “HOLY GEE WOW BETTER THAN VISIONS THEY SAID. THE SPIRIT’S THE BEST THEY SAID. PRAISE THE LORD! SCRIPTURES!”

And their kids are just amazing. Really good kids. so that is super awesome. I hope they keep coming back.

About the temple here it is so far away, and Germans have so much vacation time, that they will go to the temple for a week at a time. Do like 20 sessions. Talk about a spiritual boost! This week has been really good, as per yoosh, I had a fairly steep dip into grumpy town this week, but it only lasted a day and I feel better than ever. Thanks for your letters, and I wish I had more time to clarify all of my feelings, but it takes so long through writing!

Just a few clarifications:

1. I love this area. I can honestly say that. I really like it here even though it is hard and slow.
2. I love this ward. They work really hard, they love everyone a lot, and they always want to talk to anyone that is new. I feel the Spirit so strongly when I am with them.
3. I love my companion. Elder Draper is so incredible to me. I’m so grateful for this chance I have had to work and grow with him, and I’m going to miss him a lot in a few weeks.
4. I love my mission. I love how it is making a me a better person already, even though I make a ton of mistakes.
5. I love Jesus Christ. I’m trying to remember every day that I am working in His name, and that He died for me and for the people of this area.
6. Finally, I love you, my family. Thank you for all the wonderful examples I have. Thank you for the love I feel. Thank you for the prayers. Thank you for the birthday package!

I know this Gospel is true, and I’m sorry that sometimes I get distracted and don’t focus on that. I’ll do better next week.

Love you all, see ya next week, bye.

Elder Greaves

Leave a Reply

