elder caleb greaves

Holding to the Iron Rod in Germany

NO TIME NO TIME NO TIME!

Leave a comment

I ONLY HAVE 12 MINUTES TO RESPOND!

I’m so sorry. The problem is I’m sending you guys letters, so I spent too much time responding to others. And those letters should be there in 10ish days.

Also, to send letters or packages to me, send it to
 
Elder Caleb Greaves
Glüsinger Weg 3
21481
Lauenburg, Germany
 
DON’T WRITE “GIFT” ON THE PACKAGE. Elder Draper’s mom did that. It means “poison” auf Deustch, [in German] so that took forever to get through customs. 🙂  I have to wait six weeks to get it otherwise, if you send it to the mission home.
 
Gift poison
 

Anywho.

I love you guys a lot. Really a lot. I’ve just been thinking about how grateful I am that my parents are so awesome and my siblings are so funny.

So a few really important things. Elder Bednar is coming to visit our mission in 3 weeks. Did I forget to mention that?

  
Also, we get iPads soon. That is going to rock for so many reasons. I’ll expound later.
 
In preparation for Elder Bednar, our zone is doing a fast chain, where for a like five weeks, at least one companionship is fasting. IT HAS BLESSED US SO MUCH! Our zone leaders may get the oppurtunity to teach the Restoration to 2000 Afrikaans at once, and they are already like,
 
“YEAH! JEEESSUUUSSSSS!!”
(Pronounced J-AY-EE-Z-UH-S. Now wave your arms above your head. Noodle arms. There you go.)
 
So they will probably have like 500 investigators. Not even an exaggeration.
 

Then we have had the best week ever!

We have had a miracle a day.

Monday: An inactive member that we meet with every Monday said he felt the Spirit for the first time in a long time when we watched a Mormon Message with him. We are trying to get the Bishop involved, but I think by next month we can have him going to church again. He loves the ward.He hasn’t made any progress for 3 years, and then 2 elders that can’t speak German help him? PSSH. Miracle.

Tuesday: We recontacted an older man that moved back into our area. He lost his wife in December, and when Elder Draper contacted him a few months ago, he was having a really hard time of it. He told them he was ready to just die. They gave him a Book of Mormon, but he wouldn’t accept their number or give them his. After a little bit of prodding, this 90-year-old man named Erwin told us that he has read 70 pages of the Book of Mormon, and that he reads it every time he gets sad. We read Alma 40 with him, and then he saw the chapter heading for Alma 41. He said that he’s been having dreams of his family that have passed away, and that what he dreams is in the Book of Mormon. We couldn’t talk much more, because he’s starting to lose his memory, but we are hoping to get our family involved. At the very least, we know that we have helped someone. In Alma 40, there are 3 or so verses about good people in the spirit world, and then 2 about bad people and gnashing and wailing and whatevs. We asked him to read the happy stuff out loud, but he read the angry stuff too. So I was laughing a little really quietly, and then he looks at us and just softly said “Oh…” like all old and stuff. I almost lost it. He was hard of hearing, THANK GOODNESS. I was laughing so hard into my hand while Elder drape drapes covered for me. That’s 2 miracles in one day.

 [Mom sidenote.  I have no idea what he is talking about.  If someone else does, explain it to me.  Maybe he’s getting that German sense of humor he wrote about recently.]                         confusionWednesday: On Wednesday and Thursday, I was on Tausch [exchanges] with Elder Shaal, my district leader. We played soccer, my first ever European soccer with adults and everything. It was raining, and I was all,

“Darn time to go,”

and they were like,

“NUH UH SOCCER IS LIFE!”

and it was GREAT.

Then I couldn’t walk for 3 days, I was so sore. You’re thinking this is a fluffy miracle. Nope. This is real life Hallelujah miracle.

Thursday: The very first lady we talked to when we went finding was ridiculously prepared for us. We walked up to her, she read our name tags, and sadi, “I love Jesus!” Elder Shaal bore a powerful testimony of the Book of Mormon, and she said she would go home and talk to her daughter to try and find when they could both be taught. Really? “I love Jesus?” Miracle.

Friday: Caught a bus that should have left without us. Okay, that one was weak. But what makes up for it is . . .
 
Saturday: in what can only be described as a Hail Mary (football, not the Catholic prayer), and also a plea for sister mishies in our ward again, we baked brownies and tried to contact one of the investigators of the sisters that were here before I came. With her, 3 appointments had fallen out, and she started hanging up when we called. But she was there, and we gave her the brownies and a testimony, and while she’s busy right now, I think we started a good relationship. SHE’LL HAVE A HARD TIME HANGING UP ON US NOW!!! AHAHAH MIRACLE!!!

Sunday: Sunday was the best day by far! An inactive member that had refused to come to church for 4 months showed up without being invited, and the ward was super friendly. We were able to go give a blessing to another less active member we were struggling to contact. A very shy lady in our ward that we visited last Sunday asked for a pass-along card for an old friend, so we also gave her our number if they were interested. A man from Singapore visited and said he will have 3 referrals for us from co-workers here.

Phew! Awesome week.
 
SEND MORE RECIPES.                                        
begging
 
I love you guys so so much, but I’ll shower you with love and affection in my letters. So be patient. I’m super over time like I am every week, but I know the Gospel is true and fasting and prayer work. Please keep praying that I will have the Gift of Tongues! It’s working!
 
Elder Greaves

Now I really have to go or my companion might just kill m - asgrlki afh grerer! 
Leave a Reply

